Happy 20th of April!

Nothing can be created from nothing.”
— Lucretius

Epicureans are known for celebrating the 20th of the month feasting with friends.  Today I’m not feasting, in fact I’m quite mentally drained and tired from so much visual and intellectual activity.  Today I finished the final proof-reading process for my upcoming book Tending the Epicurean Garden (Humanist Press), which will probably come out in the fall.

I didn’t intend for the final copy of the book to be turned in on the 20th, but it just so happened.  I’m excited, no doubt, and very proud of the work I did on the book.  It’s the product of years of passionate introspection and research.  It’s didactic, but also very personal.  Into the book I poured what I consider to be the truest, most scientific approach to spirituality, to the creation of meaning and value based on the study of nature.

I also feel a sense of debt to those that came before me.  Epicurus, Metrodorus, Hermarchus, Polyaenus, Lucian, Philodemus, Lucretius, Thomas Jefferson, Norman Dewitt, and also Cassius Amicus of newepicurean.com just to name a few.  The book didn’t emerge from a vacuum, but from the fertile soil of an Epicurean tradition that is much richer and pragmatic than most people today realize.

Now, I’m going to rest.

About hiramcrespo

Hiram Crespo is the author of 'Tending the Epicurean Garden' and founder of societyofepicurus.com. He's also written for The Humanist, Eidolon, Occupy, The New Humanism, The Secular Web, Europa Laica, AteístasPR, and many other outlets.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

