The Materialist Conception of Identity

I frequently view, and sometimes enjoy and learn from, the videos published by the School of Life, a philosophical organization that claims to derive inspiration, in part, from the Epicurean Gardens of antiquity. In recent weeks, I viewed one of their videos titled Who Am I?, and as I watched it, I realized that it sometimes presents content in a wishy-washy manner that is of little use. Perhaps it’s the lack of commitment to a particular doctrine. Perhaps it’s the acceptance of Platonic or idealist views. There frequently does not seem to be a clear over-arching philosophical outlook that informs their videos. The video on personal identity just discusses in general terms various different notions about human identity.

On the other hand, a curious and useful conception 0f personal identity is offered by materialists. Will Durant said “We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence is not an act, but a habit.” Habitualization is a central subject in the Cyrenaic tradition, and the entire process of Epicurean therapy is meant to uncover the beliefs underlying our habitual thoughts and behavior, so that we can more consciously steer our sense of self.

This materialist conception of self, with its connection between habit and identity, is a useful way to consider our art of becoming, of fashioning our identity. It also encourages us to make our philosophy tangible by considering philosophical questions in terms of how they find expression in our habitual behavior.

If we say we are hedonists, then in what ways do we have a lifestyle of not postponing pleasure? If we call ourselves Epicureans, then do we gather with friends on the twentieth of every month? Do we relish bread and cold water on serene summer days? Do we frequently seek to blend our minds with friends we are endeared to? If we say we strive for self-sufficiency, then does this imply a frugal or simple lifestyle? Or a steady financial plan that will lead to greater autonomy in a few years? In what ways are all of our identities made concrete?

Thinking critically about identity and habits might also help to expose us to honest criticism of ourselves. Are we habitually angry? Do we have procrastination issues? There are labels we can attach to these bad habits that, if we assume them, might encourage us to change our lives around until those labels no longer apply. If we accept that habits translate into identity, then we have to be harsher with ourselves and our bad habits in terms of naming them without reserve.

If we accept that we are what we repeatedly do, then authenticity begins to require more than introspection, and we begin to realize and articulate the long-term projects that we choose to identify with, in habitual terms.

About hiramcrespo

Hiram Crespo is the author of 'Tending the Epicurean Garden' and founder of societyofepicurus.com. He's also written for The Humanist, Eidolon, Occupy, The New Humanism, The Secular Web, Europa Laica, AteístasPR, and many other outlets.
This entry was posted in Humanism, Materialism, Naturalism, Philosophy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Materialist Conception of Identity

  1. Pingback: Lecturas para comenzar el Jueves 26 de mayo de 2016

  2. Coffin This says:

    Our habits aren’t born in a vacuum. We do what we do habitually based on the deep seed. We can change habits, but doing so does not truly alter who we are. Essence precedes existence. Nice blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Neigh I say! says:

      (I hope im replyig to Coffin this, pressed reply but don’t know if to OP or to Coffin)
      You could elaborate a bit more, maybe explaining what do you understand with the relation between habits and identity. Essence and existence. Meaning it is left open for subjectivity and not what you real idea of it is.
      for example(hypothetical): I am a horseback rider, I have the habit of horseback riding. This is what makes me happy, and keeps my belly full, Is it not part of who I am? If I suddenly I change my activities to…let’s say dancing and I feel fabulous doing it and I’m excelent at it and feeds me and I love it. Doesn’t that make me a dancer?
      maybe the question Who I am can be separeted into “realms” for lack of a proper word.
      What others think of me. “he is a horseback rider” “he is a dancer”
      What I think of me. “I’m a horseback rider”, “I’m a dacer”.
      All this withouth taking into consideration my hypothetical self qualities; Angry horseback rider. Happy dancer.
      Are we just sums of qualities? and the answer to this question defines who I am?
      If I keep changing habits or adding new ones, and this alter in some way my perspective of life, I might have the liberty to say My essence has changed, evolved or devolved.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Happy Twentieth: Neural Pathways in Lucretius’ De Rerum Natura | The Autarkist

  4. Pingback: RJB III: By Their Fruits You Will Know Them | The Autarkist

Leave a Reply

